Doing GCIH exam without official training

CyberCop123CyberCop123 Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
My day job is incident response and digital forensics.

I have an OSCP certification and I hope to have CISSP in about 2 months.

My employer won't pay for GCIH but I want to do it so I can move on and have another certification.

I'm guessing you can sit the exam without any training? People here mention tests they're doing but I can't see any that are available. Any suggestions as I'm not sure how much I need to study.
My Aims
2017: OSCP -
COMPLETED
2018: CISSP -
COMPLETED
2019: GIAC GNFA - Advanced Network Forensics & Threat Hunting -
COMPLETED
           GIAC GREM - Reverse Engineering of Malware -
COMPLETED

2021: CCSP
2022: OSWE (hopefully)

Comments

• BlucodexBlucodex Member Posts: 430 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Cyber, I already have my CISSP and I don't know if with your OSCP and CISSP (tbd) that GCIH will be the best value to you. You may want to look into one of the forensics classes.
  • al88al88 Member Posts: 62 ■■■□□□□□□□
    GCIH depends heavily on the tools mentioned in the book, half of which you may know from your job and OSCP but probably not all. With Techniques things can get tricky too especially how to counter them from IR stand point. But you can handle that with DFIR common sense i guess.

Point is, SEC504 true value is in the training.. I highly recommend going first.. it's an experience that really worth it. If you can't afford it, apply for work study program, it's almost the same price as exam challenge anyway.
    Side advise,

I'm not sure about your background, but you may want to focus on one track instead of jumping around with heavy certs (OSCP and CISSP while your job is DFIR).

Stick to a path, Excel at it, then move on ;)
  • quogue66quogue66 Member Posts: 193 ■■■■□□□□□□