CASP after Security+..possible?

technewtechnew Member Posts: 35 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello Everyone 

Just need some advise. I have network + and recently passed security+ (with 820/900). I do not have any IT experience.... Do y'all think CASP might be a good next step? or am I getting ahead of myself here? If CASP might be too difficult, then what would be the next step after Sec+? may be SSCP or CySA+?
Thanks guys!

Comments

• PCTechLincPCTechLinc Member Posts: 646 ■■■■■■□□□□
    I have no experience with CySA+ or CASP, but based on the feedback I've heard about both, if you don't have any practical IT experience, those might be much more difficult than what you experienced with Security+.  Other than building up your experience, I would recommend staying around the entry-level until the more advanced technologies become second nature to you.  What you DON'T want to do is have expert-level knowledge on paper with entry-level practical experience on your Resume.  Try to keep both around the same level, in my opinion.

In short, CySA+ or SSCP would be a good segue, but maybe add the A+ in there as well.
    Master of Business Administration in Information Technology Management - Western Governors University
    Master of Science in Information Security and Assurance - Western Governors University
    Bachelor of Science in Network Administration - Western Governors University
    Associate of Applied Science x4 - Heald College
  • charismaticxcharismaticx Member Posts: 160 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I would not advise it. CASP requires some level of intermediate experience. Work on the basics and slowly work your way up to the most advanced certs. 
    Goals: PNPT; OSCP; GPYC; GSE
  • technewtechnew Member Posts: 35 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks a lot... I guess I will try to do SSCP then. 
  • shochanshochan Member Posts: 1,004 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited December 2018