Plans to take CISSP Exam in January 2019

arunm17arunm17 Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I am starting to study for the CISSP exam, i have about 20 years IT Work experience across the board. Security has always been a thing of intrigue. The fundamentals are absolutely important and i hope i am in the right path. Please give me your opinion on this?
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The books i am using to study is:

1. CISSP Study Guide 3rd Edition (Eric Conrad)
2. Eleventh Hour 3rd Edition (Eric Conrad)
3. CISSP Study Guide 7th Edition (Sybex)
4. Sunflower v2.0
5. Shon Harris All in One guide 7th Edition (Use it sparingly for reference)

Videos:
1. Cybrary - Kelly Handerhan

Exam Questions:
1. Exam Cram Practice Guide 3rd Edition
2. Shon Harris Exam Practice 3rd Edition
3. Wiley CISSP Practice Guide - S. Rao Vallabheni

Weekday - Daily 2 hours (10 weekly)
Weekend - 5 hours (10 hours weekend)

***I am writing my own notes from the questions i get wrong, notes from the book i study that i feel is important & this will incorporate Mind-Maps..etc.

Exam Date: January 31st 2019
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Note: At the moment i am lacking confidence as the knowledge in these books look enormous and gigantic. It looks like i have to put in 200 hours into studying and exam taking. Its been a while since i took an exam and maybe because of that i feel demotivated and down.

-Arun-

Comments

• tedjamestedjames Member Posts: 1,179 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Good strategy, especially with making notes from missed questions. I'm doing the same.