Tips for starting a new remote position

DatabaseHeadDatabaseHead Member Posts: 2,753 ■■■■■■■■■■
edited December 2018 in IT Jobs / Degrees
I'm relatively new to the remote piece.  I've done it part time quite a bit, but starting off from home seems like it could be challenging.  

Any tips or pointers would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Wear pants for video calls.
  • scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    Set a time that you get 'off' You didn't say if you were married or have kids.  There has to be a cut-off time.  Wake up at the same time.  Show that you are a hard worker, because in some cases, remote workers are the first to be laid off (out of sight/out of mind).  Go to the main office every month or so. Good luck.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Wear pants for video calls.
    I'd probably wear a shirt, too.  One of the key things to remember is that you need to communicate often.  As scaredoftests mentioned, out of sight/out of mind.  Schedule video conference calls with your boss if you can't make it in to see the team on a regular basis.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    If possible, try to carve out an area for a home office. Ideally, it's someplace where you only do work and not personal stuff. It can be a good way to separate work from home.

On days where I don't have to meet or speak with customers, I try to work from the library or a coffee shop just to get a change of scenery and to get out of the house.