Passed the ICND2 exam!

USr1deMCUSr1deMC Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
Happy to say that I passed ICND2 today! I think it is a good way to close out the year with my CCNA. Now on to CCNP Route and Switch. For study materials I used.
  • Todd Lammle CCN Routing and Switching Second Edition
  • CBT Nuggets with Jeremy
  • Boson Practice Exams
  • Packet Tracer
  • Home Lab
  • Note cards and OneNote
  • Current role at my job
I passed my ICND1 in July and took a short break. I had ISC CISSP training coming up in August so I turned to studying for that and took the exam in September. Then it was back to ICND2. I believe I started studying for ICND2 the week of September 24th. I spent 2 - 4 hours a day studying and the weekends were all focused on building and breaking labs. Being able to take the train to work everyday gives me about 2 hours a day. I've been able to accomplish so much because of the train, but one day I'll get a job closer to home so the days of an hour and 40 minute commute will be in the past. A week before the exam I bought Boson ICND2 exams to test my knowledge. There were 4 exams and I averaged about 70 - 80% my first time through. Continued to review all of my note cards for each chapter and lab all week.

The test was complicated and it surprised me on a few topics. I actually ran out of time. I had 2 questions I didn't answer and two of the simulation questions were guesses, because I was under the 60 second mark. I thought I would have a better chance of passing if I just answered the questions. I ended up with an 866. Not fantastic but OK for not being able to answer all of the questions. A pass is a pass! I focused more on LAN and Routing when I studied and it showed when my results came through. Not so hot on the Infrastructure Management. Now on to enjoying the night and then cracking the book open for CCNP Route next week.

Comments

• Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□