How much pay rise is appropriate for 1st year ?

Attitude24Attitude24 Member Posts: 11 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi, 

I work as a SOC , Security Analyst but I'm not sure how this salary review works and how much is ok for a 1st year SOC Analyst salary hike is fine?. I'm not sure how much to ask because before I started with them I asked for 21K as base price but was offered 18K and top of them I get 4.2K for for doing 12 shift rotation in general but base price is 18K. now I need to know how much is ok to ask for this role. Any advice??.

Thanks

Comments

• kaijukaiju Member Posts: 453 ■■■■■■■□□□
    edited December 2018
    What have you accomplished in the last year?
    Have you received any official accolades or letters of commendations for performance?
    Have you completed any professional certifications?
    Have you had any negative counselings?
    What is used to track your performance? (Is there a metric that you have to meet?)

You can expect to receive a 2~7% pay raise based on performance IF your position gives annual raises. The best raises actually come from moving up the latter.

Work smarter NOT harder! Semper Gumby!
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Right. This can be anything from zero to a lot. The sad reality of life is that some companies do not even do annual raises. $18k for a security analyst? Please tell me that is not in the USA.
  • Attitude24Attitude24 Member Posts: 11 ■■□□□□□□□□
    edited December 2018
    Right. This can be anything from zero to a lot. The sad reality of life is that some companies do not even do annual raises. $18k for a security analyst? Please tell me that is not in the USA.
    Hi, It's in UK so it's £18K . I know it's very low for a Degree job. i just wanted to get myself into commerical side to get experience .of course if I dont get more than 4.5K rise then I will be looking different company.
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod