Options

Renegotiating with Current employer

Z0sickxZ0sickx Member Posts: 180 ■■■□□□□□□□
Looking for advice on renegotiating with current employer when they want you to stay but your i'm a contractor for gov agency so i'm not at my company HQ but at the customer site. i've been with current company and customer agency for 3 years now and got offered a sweet exponential salary increase. New company is on option year 2 of 5 so technically have 3 years if i wanted to stay, also would have 4 guys underneath me and myself in command. Professional wise this is still kinda a lateral move just because i'm still with the same agency with a different contractor, the main difference is I'd get Splunk team under my operations realm and i've never used SIEM so its an opportunity in itself to learn that. new company also has 15k tuition assistance.

Current company I know can't match that salary so i need some assistance on what items I could bring up to them to aid in Professional development if i were to stay. I'm a Senior Application Engineer and worked with Tenable,Fortify,and ForeScout and i'm stuck with engineering those tools unless our shop gets something else to build. the only thing that comes to mind is either having them match tuition assistance, all vacation hours upfront,

what else can be leveraged?

Comments

• Options
    scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    edited December 2018
    I would not worry about it. I'd go with that other company.  Especially, if your other (the one you are at now)company knows that you are on your way out.
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • Options
    COBOL_DOS_ERACOBOL_DOS_ERA Member Posts: 205 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I would go with the new company. Just keep in the mind that you are at the option year, not at the base year. After recompete, you might have to look for a new company to work for.
    CISM, CRISC, CGEIT, PMP, PMI-ACP, SEC+, ITIL V3, A-CSM. And Many More.
  • Options