CISM experience verification

ay092017ay092017 Member Posts: 21 ■□□□□□□□□□
This topic has been discussed in this forum from several different angles but none could answer my specific circumstance. Hoping someone dealt with this issue in the past.
I am studying for CISM exam and looking optimistically down the road at the certification application.

My situation is that I am no longer with my former employer where I had accumulated 6 years of InfoSec experience across the CISM job practice areas. Further, due to major re-orgs, layoffs, and voluntary separations there is no one currently employed there who can verify more than 2 years of this experience.

Here is my question
My direct supervisor for 5 of those experience years retired not long ago.
Can I use this person as my verifier on the certification application?
This person is no longer employed by my former company where I gained this experience but I reported to him for the 5 years in question.

thank you in advance,

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    The only official answers to your questions can come from ISACA itself. I would encourage you to contact ISACA using the information provided by the link below and post the reply here.

How to Become CISM Certified

Certified Information Security Manager - IT Certification - CISM | ISACA
  • SnooperSnooper Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Wow - Just the thread I needed to start but OP beat me to it so I will post my questions here instead of starting another thread about it.
    Hi Guys and Gals