Options

Just Passed my CCSK + other observations...

TheGrindTheGrind Member Posts: 1 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster. These forums have been absolutely fantastic in helping me choose which certs to pursue plus how to complete them.

Anyway, I just passed my CCSK v4 exam and have to say it was much harder than expected. I found CCSK on this forum isn't discussed as much as other more popular certs so I decided to write with regards to a few observations about the cert plus tips on how I completed it.

Firstly, my background is Cybersecurity management. I work in consultancy where I advise large enterprises on how to improve their security posture. My clients are usually the CEO, CIO and CISOs. Given everything is cloud these days I somewhat realized that CCSK was an absolute must. For a senior manager, CCSK provides a lot of weight in terms of credentials and helps participate in conversations with Executives and other senior managers.

In terms of the exam itself, as I said before, it was way harder than I expected - even with my background in cloud. The exam consists of 60 multiple choice questions and you have 90 minutes to complete it.

The exam is open book but no matter what resources you have at your fingertips this won't really help you. This is not an exam you can 'c heat' on because 1) you just don't have time to look up the answers and 2) the questions of the exam itself are worded in such a way that you won't find the answers in the materials anyway.

Cloud Security Alliance did a great job of ensuring that the questions require the candidate to really think through each potential answer. Without giving away too much, I found many of the questions reasonably lengthy with each potential answer also requiring a lot of thought. For myself personally, I found about half the questions were relatively straight forward to answer but the other half had my brain running in overdrive.