Cloud Ops or Security Engineer

dblink07dblink07 Member Posts: 11 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello All,

I am in a unique situation. I have over 5 years experience in IT, mainly support, sysadmin, and a little networking.Upon Graduating with my bachelors in IT, I accepted a position at a great company as a Technical Support Engineer. Next week we will have our annual company meeting, and my manager (who's awesome!) wants to set me up with the directors of the department that I see myself in long term with the company. Next week he is going to introduce me to the respective department directors, so that they can groom me and have me tag a long with certain projects. The problem is that I'm interested in both cloud ops and cyber security, do you guys have any thoughts on how to narrow down the two. Do you feel like there is more growth potential, than the other one? 

Thanks
Tagged:

Comments

• stryder144stryder144 Member Posts: 1,684 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Cloud security...that will likely gain traction over the near future due to how many companies have moved to AWS, Office 365, etc.  Not overly helpful but just the observation that I would put out there.
    The easiest thing to be in the world is you. The most difficult thing to be is what other people want you to be. Don't let them put you in that position. ~ Leo Buscaglia

Connect With Me || My Blog Site || Follow Me
  • DZA_DZA_ Member Posts: 467 ■■■■■■■□□□