Failed - Security + - Need Help

harryaliharryali Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Dear Friends,

I attempted Security + exam last week and my score was 754 icon_sad.gif. Not sure where dropped the ball. I studied online material, Security + Book, over 800 practice questions, etc.

Any suggestions, study material, etc. will be highly appreciated.

Thanks,
Haider

Comments

• tibultibul Member Posts: 240
    Your very close so you should pass next time, did you use only 1 book to study with? most here including myself recommend more than one book to study with i personally used 3 in total the sybex 3rd edition, syngress and exam cram with 700 practice questions also and the notes on this site to pass.

Good luck and never give up :D
    Studying 70-292.
    Aiming for MCSA: Security and 2003 upgrade.
  • sthomassthomas Member Posts: 1,240 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Unfortuantley some of the questions are kinda poorly worded. I used the Syngress book and the Sybex book for this exam plus technotes from this site.

http://www.techexams.net/co_securityplus.shtml
    Working on: MCSA 2012 R2
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    I think the only thing you're lacking, if you've been hitting the books, is some practical experience. The best thing you could do is try to set up some of the scenarios you find in the practice books (such as the Thomson book has an additional lab manual), play around with Snort, various firewalls, etc. You can also check out CBT Nuggets for some more interactive training, which will show you how things are set up and give you an idea of how some of the more abstract concepts translate to the actual computers. One thing I always recommend is TestOut, which will give you videos, (printable) written material, simulators and lab scenarios, as well as some quizzes and testing at the end of each section to make sure the concepts stick.

Whatever path you choose, the advice is "practice, practice, practice". . . always.

Free Microsoft Training: Microsoft Learn