Asking for advice on changing my job

JonWill2JonWill2 Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, 

I would be very grateful for any advice on me trying to make probably my last change of job.

I'm in my early 50's and  I've worked in IT all my working life.

I started out programming computer games in the mid 80's. after a few years I started working at a Computer brokers  and worked my way up to being engineering manager and became Compaq certified and having a  MCSE in NT4 after 12 years the company went broke

I started working repairing printers, photocopiers etc.. I've been doing this for nearly 20 years at different companies. but now I would like to go back if possible to some sort of IT support job, ideally hands on and not stuck at a desk answering calls at a help desk all day. In my current job it involves more than printers thou , I work with Comms equipment and other peripherals.

I've a broad range of IT skills, thou I'm not an expert in any. so I thought about doing some IT Certs, I've not done any for nearly 20 years. 

so I was thinking of  doing some of the following.. 

MS certification in Windows 10, Server 2016, Active Directory and Office 365

or

Cisco CCNA 

or 

Comptia Server+ , Security+ , Network+

or a combination of the above, I would have thought the CCNA would take the longest period to study and probably the hardest to pass, thou I do have a good general knowledge of IT ( became a MCSE in NT 4  in 1999 !)  I wouldn't be starting as a newbie.

anyone have any  thoughts or advice ?

Thanks 

Jon

Comments

• scaredoftestsscaredoftests Mod Posts: 2,780 Mod
    It kind of depends on what really interests you and what jobs are available in your area.  You did not say if you are working now. What are you doing now?  
    Never let your fear decide your fate....
  • JonWill2JonWill2 Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□