Passed Sec + 501!! Thoughts and Inputs

heezyhuynh404heezyhuynh404 Registered Users Posts: 23 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited December 2018 in Security+
I had to make this post because everyone on this forum helped me so much! Today I passed my Sec+ 501 on the first try. A little background and current situation. I am a deployed soldier currently overseas in the middle east. I work over 60 hours a week and most of my studying happens at night after duty hours. I work out here in Iraq as a IMO (information management officer) where I do basic IT troubleshooting and help desk related work. I work with IT contractors who have taught me some things that related very much to the exam, like working with Active Directory, granting network folder permissions, principles of least privilege, AUP, setting up computers for baselining, ETC. I'm also a college student majoring in Information Technology where my concentration is Software Development. Now, what I used and do to prepare for the exam.

1. Darril Gibson Get Ahead and Get Certified, read and did all pre-exam, chapter exams, and post exams, and read all definitions
2. Bought Darril Gibson Security + App for IOS
3. Watched all Professor Messer Videos
4. Watched 60% of Mike Myers Security + course on Udemy
5. Watched all videos on FedVTE on a Security + course taught at Carnegie Mellon University (Only for Military) 
6. Completed MeasureUp exams (Free for Military)
7. Used power point lecture slides covering each objective that I have obtained from soldiers who went to a Sec+ course in Kuwait
8. Listened to Darril Gibson Audio files
9. TestEngine simulator tool obtained by my IT Professor
10. Bunch of practice exams found on google
11. Bought Messer notes