Options

Preparing for CISM

SDeeSDee Member Posts: 82 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited February 2019 in CISM
I will dedicate this thread to follow up my whole journey towards -hopefully- being a CISM. 
I am an Information Security manager, with over 7 years of experience in networks and Information Security, I currently hold the following certificates: CCNP R&S - CCNA Voice - CCNA Security - ITIL Foundation - CEH - CISSP - CCSP 

The most recent was CCSP, and I decided to take it from there as CCSP covers a lot of the topics within CISSP, and CISSP and CISM have a good over-lap percentage, I have done several test exam and been scoring 75-80% before starting the preparation.

I am yet to decide when to book the exam I just plan to go through the chosen material and book it three weeks after am done. Will update this thread accordingly. 

Resources I have;
- CISM Review Manual, 15th Edition
- CISM Review Questions, Answers & Explanations, 9th Edition
- Cybrary Videos (Obviously) and old CBT Nuggets videos (Outdated) 

I started to read the Review Manual, loved the covered topics but didn't like the book at all, it is boring and I just kept getting out of focus everytime I started reading! I am considering to have a different approach, rely on videos (Cybrary maybe?) and do a selective reading from the Review Manual on topics that I feel require further understanding. 

How would you rate Cybrary videos in CISM? Are there any less boring material? 
Any general advises or guidance please.. 

Comments

• Options
    DZA_DZA_ Member Posts: 467 ■■■■■■■□□□
    There is a definitely a lot of overlap in the Cybrary material as it's done by Kelly Handerhan and much of the content is reflected in her CISSP videos. If you still want to go through it, you might want to put it 1.5x as the content may be redundant. A lot of folks here will tell you that the QAE database for a couple weeks is all you need but personally I did both the manual and the QAE before passing the exam.