Options

Which is the better job: NOC Technician or Network Technician?

jamesindcjamesindc Member Posts: 23 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm pursuing a career as a network engineer.  I was recently offered two jobs.  I'm trying to figure out which job would be better for achieving my goal of becoming a Network Engineer.  I have a 4 year degree and CompTIA Network+ and Security+ certifications.  I should have my Cisco CCNA (R&S) by this summer. I have about 3-4 years of mostly Tier 1 support type experience.

Which one do you think is the better job?  Which one will offer the better path towards becoming a Network Engineer ?

1. The first job is working for a SaaS in the Healthcare industry.  It's official title is NOC Engineer.  Its salary is about 10K more than the other job below.  Here is the job description: 

The NOC technician position is a great opportunity to work with fellow engineers, gain experience in a variety of technologies and explore other roles within the company.

Who will love this job
  • Problem Solving: You will monitor and troubleshoot the server, network and operating systems and the internal production systems in a data center environment. We strive to resolve issues while maintaining a 99.9% uptime rate for all systems.
  • Learning: You are a lifelong learner; you will have the opportunity to gain knowledge of how our infrastructure works in relationship to our customers and end users
  • Communicating: You will work with internal teams to report or resolve system related or network issues and communicate them to the rest of the team
  • Delivering: You will be responsible for monitoring, maintaining and troubleshooting 250+ servers and 150+ network devices located at more than five locations and resolving issues in a timely and efficient manner
  • Graduate degree or Undergraduate degree in engineering or Computer Science