Starting WGU MBA IT Management on Mar 1, 2019

JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
On March 1, 2019, I will officially begin the MBA in IT Management degree program at Western Governors University (WGU). This is a two-year journey that I've decided to mini-blog about here in the hopes that my opinions and experiences will help others, and also encourage others to post their educational experiences at www.TechExams.Net.

Comments

• JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    I am presently a manager (of people, not things) in an IT security environment. I am a very technical person and have no management experience before my present position. I have discovered that on-the-job experience will only teach you the things you need to do your specific job at your place of business. I realized that I needed a broader exposure to aspects of management that I will not touch in my present position. Therefore, I concluded that I needed to take classes in business management.

After looking at a variety of online management programs that my employer would pay for (Strayer, Webster, Capella, etc.), I decided to go with WGU and its MBA ITM program. My original intent was just to take a few business classes and not enroll in an actual degree program. However, all online schools want admits into their degree programs. The alternative would leave me attending courses at local brick-n-mortar schools late at night, which would not fit my present work schedule. I realized that if I were to continue on to a management career path in IT, an MBA would be a great course of study to follow.
    edited February 2019
    Why the MBA ITM and not the MS ITM degree at WGU?