Options

50% Travel

CyberCop123CyberCop123 Member Posts: 338 ■■■■□□□□□□
edited March 2019 in IT Jobs / Degrees
I have applied for a job with Microsoft within a Cybersecurity position.  However, the job description states that there will be up to 50% global travelling.  The internal recruiter asked me about my willingness to do this.  I did say it didn't put me off, but I would like to talk with the head manager about the job and the finer details.  

I've never travelled globally for work before.  I'm a little worried by it being 50% of the time and concerned about how impactive that may be on me.  I don't have kids, but I do have a long term partner. 

Has anyone here travelled to this degree for work?  
How did you find it?
Was it good, bad, fun, etc...?

The job looks good - I don't know if I have much of a chance as some parts of the JD I have no experience in.  However, I wanted to consider this just in case I do go further in this application.

Thanks
Cybercop 
My Aims
2017: OSCP -
COMPLETED
2018: CISSP -
COMPLETED
2019: GIAC GNFA - Advanced Network Forensics & Threat Hunting -
COMPLETED
           GIAC GREM - Reverse Engineering of Malware -
COMPLETED

2021: CCSP
2022: OSWE (hopefully)

Comments

• Options
    SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    It all depend on your long term partner... Is she willing to be alone 50% of the time? Have you talked to her about this. Will it create conflict between you and her ?

I am sure that technically the job is interesting and the money is good, but at this point it is mostly a couple relationship issue.

I never worked globally, I would have liked it a lot. But at some point of my career there were period where I was travelling a lot more and what I found difficult is eating in restaurant 3 times a day, strangely at first it is nice, but after a time you are just craving home food. 
  • Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□