Passed eJPT

PseudonymousPseudonymous Member Posts: 78 ■■■□□□□□□□
I've never had so much fun taking an exam before. I have no pentesting experience outside of this exam so I was pretty nervous about taking it. It took me a little over 11 hours to finish. The main problem for me was trying the same thing over and over and expecting different results. There were situations where something I was doing should've worked, but it kept failing. I really had to think outside the box because there's usually multiple ways to exploit and achieve something. Although I did all of the training material (multiple times), there was one lab that I didn't fully understand, but I figured it wouldn't be a big deal... that was a mistake lol. Overall, I'm glad I passed and I can't wait to get a pentesting job so I can apply it. Being a Penetration Tester/ Ethical Hacker has been my dream job for as long as I can remember.

What I used during the exam (that most people probably didn't):
  • draw.io - used it to create a networking diagram of all the hosts, routers, etc that I could find during the exam. This was a HUGE help for me.
  • OneNote - I used OneNote to keep documentation on pretty much everything as I worked through the exam. Steps, things I tried, things to try, stuff I found, etc.
  • VirtualBox - I did all of the training course and the exam using Virtualbox (specifically pfSense and ParrotOS).
  • ParrotOS - To each his own, but I don't like Kali Linux. I've loved ParrotOS since the first time I used it and I used ParrotOS exclusively during throughout my entire eJPT journey.

What's next?