Career change help and guidance.

HirobradHirobrad Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
I am currently in the process of switching careers and would like some guidance and help. I am currently Head of Computer Science at a school in Dubai. I moved here one year ago from the UK. I have been teaching for 12 years. I am starting my MSc in Cyber Security in September and before hand I would like to up-skill in some areas that I believe I have gaps in my knowledge. I am hoping to move into junior roles within cyber security. My MSc is part time and I will be studying it over 25 months. It includes: 

- Penetration testing
- Cybercrime forensic analysis
- Mobile forensics 
- Professional secure networks

In additional to having completed this I would like to complete some certifications to some competence in areas. I am aware that experience wins over certs, however I do not currently have experience, my certs are hopefully a way of getting my foot in the door. The certs I am hoping to have completed are: 

- CCENT 
- Linux+ 
- PCAP / PPAP (Python programming) 

While on the course I will also be completing work that will allow me to complete the CCNA - Cyber Obs and the CEH.

I have looked online for more helping and it seems that lots of people seem to have conflicting opinions about courses. Do you believe this just comes down to personal preference. 

Have I missed anything out that is needed for junior security roles? Any help would be amazing. 

Comments

• yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    As head of computer science I doubt you'd need to bother with a Python cert.

It all seems like a considerable step down--whereas you've been a leader & mentor in prepping some students that likely moved on to junior cybersecurity roles, here you are hoping to do the same yourself. 

If I were you I'd consider transitioning into a secure coding type role first , and then a bit down the career road pivot into a more general cyber security role.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,