What Path to take After Security+

AqeelnaqviAqeelnaqvi Member Posts: 15 ■■□□□□□□□□

I have passed security+ a few months back, and currently i am working on Azure Fundamentals (Az-900) and perhaps AZ-100 series. Ultimately, I would like to earn CISSP down the road; however, due to lack of exposure in the specific field, I fill a little overwhelmed by what path is the correct one.
Currently I have completed 
1. Cyber security curriculum at Champlain College offered by my employer
2. Security+ SY0-501 

Working on
Auzre fundamentals AZ-900
AZ-100 series.

Long Term Goal:
SSCP
CISSP

Also, I want to mention that currently, I am not working directly in IT, I am a Radio Access network engineer working in Telecom industry, so i will be taking a different route once my resume is presentable enough.

Comments

• nisti2nisti2 Member Posts: 503 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Congrats!
    You can check CCNA Cyber Ops. 
    2020 Year goals:
    Already passed: Oracle Cloud, AZ-900
    Taking AZ-104 in December.

"Certs... is all about IT certs!"
  • AqeelnaqviAqeelnaqvi Member Posts: 15 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the feedback.
    do you think I am not experienced enough in the field to prepare for SSCP yet? or you mean i should overlook SSCP for now, and go for CCNA Cyber ops.
  • Infosec_SamInfosec_Sam Admin Posts: 527 Admin
    I'd say there's nothing wrong with casually applying for IT jobs now, if that's eventually the route you want to take. To answer the question in your comment - the SSCP requires a year of security experience to be officially certified, so it's tough to list it on your resume before you actually have it. The CCNA cyber ops is one that you just need to take the test to earn the cert.