Options

Attained a couple certs, now what?

rtaylor1174rtaylor1174 Registered Users Posts: 9 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am honestly at a loss. For the past several months, I have been studying my tail off because of some guidance I received that changing careers is tough but possible if you demonstrate a level of proficiency in IT aka "get some credentials." So I began my quest to develop my skills in IT security, and at the beginning of this year, I passed the (ISC)2 SSCP! Yay, but after apply to every junior system analyst job (to include internships) on Indeed, Monster, and Dice... nothing. Recruiters were saying that I needed to have Security+ because it carried more recognition as certifications go to potential employers. So for good measure, I studied another month and passed that exam a few weeks back. Since I have continued to apply and don't seem to be gaining any more traction. I realize I am changing careers but did I just waste my time and money or are these "the breaks" that Kurtis Blow was referring to way back when? 

Has anyone else experienced this? What can I do to improve my chances at landing a role in IT security?

Comments

• Options
    Infosec_SamInfosec_Sam Admin Posts: 527 Admin
    If you're not even getting interviews, my first inclination would be that your resume has room for improvement. If you're changing careers, you're not going to have the explicit IT experience that many HR departments look for. What you can do instead is you can focus on the skills you have that these recruiters or HR departments are looking for. Things like creative problem solving or process implementation are good examples of industry-agnostic skills that also work very well in IT. Most importantly, ensure your resume is easy to read. I've heard from multiple recruiters that a well-put-together resume can make a difference between a phone interview and a straight denial. You may want to consider contacting a resume editor or even an IT staffing firm for help.