Provisionally passed the CISSP exam today (4/6/2019)

tahjzhuantahjzhuan Member Posts: 288 ■■■■□□□□□□

Provisionally passed the CISSP exam today (4/6/2019). The exam was strange and infuriating at times. I remember passing the 100 question mark and wanting the exam to end either way. My exam seemed policy heavy and I looked forward to the less abstract technical questions. Not sure when I began studying. I've held Sec+ and SSCP since 2015 and earned CySA+, CFR-310, CASP+, and Project+ last year. After studying for CASP, it made sense to try my hand at CISSP.

I'm a new security analyst, but have been in enterprise IT for 20 years. Still thinking about the exam, but would say it was less mind bending than my CASP experience.

Resources used

Sybex 7th edition. Did not read the complete the book. uCertify has a CISSP course that I really liked and wished I knew about sooner. It's the Sybex 8th edition book with quizzes, labs, and practice exams. I found it easier to digest and more enjoyable (interactive) than the paper copy of the book. Would have completed this, but ran out of time. Have seen it for $199 with discount code.

Completed Mike Chapple's CISSP LinkedIn Learning Course, enjoyable, but not enough on it's own. He does have a LinkedIn learning study group and a last minute study guide that's around $7.

Kelly Handerhan's Cybrary course and MP3's. Listened to these in the car and at night while going to sleep for months. Rotated these with Shon Harris MP3's.

Sunflower PDF. Skimmed through. Liked the format.

YouTube - Larry Greenblatt, Kelly H Why you will pass, Study Tips and Theory, some Skillset, IT Dojo! Very much a fan of these.

PocketPrep - used for CASP and CISSP, really enjoyed them on breaks, in a line, or on the toilet.