Taking a non-senior role after having a senior job title?

aderonaderon Member Posts: 404 ■■■■□□□□□□
Is there anything I should be worried about in taking a regular non-senior role if my current job title has "senior" in it?  Will it be seen as a downgrade by future employers?  I currently work as a senior security engineer, but will be job hunting soon.  Ultimately, I'm going to take whichever job offers the most, but I'm worried that if I take a non-senior role it could hurt me in the future and could be seen as me wanting a downgrade in responsibilities.  Thoughts?
2019 Certification/Degree Goals: AWS CSA Renewal (In Progress), M.S. Cybersecurity (In Progress), CCNA R&S Renewal (Not Started)

Comments

• LionelTeoLionelTeo Member Posts: 526 ■■■■■■■□□□
    edited April 2019
    No issue at all. Just take the role that pays the most - good hiring managers will know that this is a norm in the industry, a higher paying job usually means your role is more difficult and you can end up learning more and be more valuable in the industry.

Some industry pays a lot but gives a really trivial title to their employees to prevent them from leaving. Similarly, some industry pays really below market but hands out impressive titles to their employee prevent them from leaving to a lesser title. Some industry pays for a very high budget range, but willing to cut headcounts when needed. Don't really worry about the title, just go for the highest paying offer available. 
  • EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I pay very little attention to a title, I've seen people who were "senior" at the current job that might qualify to be junior in my location. Then there are the jobs where everyone is "senior". If the work being applied for is more complex or at least lateral to the work you're doing now, it's all good.
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■