Should I be studying for CCENT?

GoldenarmsGoldenarms Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone. Im new to this site and wanted to get some advice or see how some of you guys would go about if you were in my situation.
I am currently studying for CCENT/CCNA right now. I dont plan on taking networking serious, it is more of a stepping stone into the Security world. I always said security becomes a bit easier when you understand how a network works. I do have my security plus.

Is it a waste of time studying to get this cert? I'm honestly turned off by having to recertify every 3 years, especially when I dont plan on being in a network position.  What about CCENT to CCNA Security?

On a positive note it has been very enjoyable learning how all the stuff in a network communicates, also configuring a switch and router has been a blast. I see that as a valuable skill anywhere.

Comments

• NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I do not think the ccent is a waste , because you need to have a good understanding of how networks work before you can secure them.    

I would start with the route switch ccent and then go to the ccna.

Do you know what you want to do in security?
    Pen test. Soc analyst extra...

I feel ya on the renewing cents deal.  I feel the same, but it is the most certainly are going these days.  The technology changes so fast that the certain need to be renewed, other wise the cert eventually loses its credibility.

The Linux+ was a lifetime cert, but now the new exam expires every 3 years

When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened."

--Alexander Graham Bell,
    American inventor
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□