Hello everyone!

GoldenarmsGoldenarms Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
edited April 2019 in Introduce Yourself
I've been a lurker on this site for a bit now. I figured it would be a good idea to go ahead and join.
Been in the IT field for the past 10 years (military, contractor). I've mostly done system/network stuff, I am looking to get into the information security field. I do have security plus and that has opened doors for me since I live next to a base that is flooded with IT jobs.
I am looking to make it to the next level and get more certs. I always told myself security becomes a lot easier when you understand how a network runs and the stuff that makes it work. I am currently studying for ccent/ccna. I have been studying/doing labs for about 2 months now. I dont plan on getting a network job so I've been wondering if its even worth getting. I just figured it would be something good under my belt. I also am turned off by the fact hat I have to recertify every 3 years. I dont plan on working in the field so afterI take it I wont be using it much. My end goal this year is CSA+.
Any advice guys? What would you do in my situation?

Comments

• MontagueVandervortMontagueVandervort Member Posts: 399 ■■■■■□□□□□
    Welcome to the forum!

Do you consider yourself already more than 80% sufficient with Net+ knowledge?
    Because that's what I would be studying if I were you before I even went near the ICND1.

Has most of your ten years been working in the Networking portion of your "system/network stuff"?
    If not then I would work in Networking for a while... quite a while.

Net+
    ICND1
    Change (Networking) position
    ICND2
    Change (Networking) position
    Security Cert #2 (You said you already had the Sec+)
    Keep shifting (Networking) positions
    Security Cert #3
    Keep shifting (Networking) positions

Then after you have a good, considerable amount of time of Networking experience under your belt start aiming for Sec positions.