New to it want to get into security started with A+

a16ixa16ix Member Posts: 3 ■■□□□□□□□□
I'm new to it currently studying A+. I want to get into cyber security and the path seems a little overwhelming. I'm not sure what to study after A+ or if i should be learning how to code at the same time and if so what code? html C C+ python java etc...?

Comments

• PseudonymousPseudonymous Member Posts: 78 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Since you're new to IT I think A+ > Network+ > Security+ is a great start. It's important to get all of the fundamentals down. You might want to spend some time gaining networking experience for a while. After that you can focus getting security experience and work towards more specialized certifications for CyberSecurity like CySA+ and CCNA: CyberOps.

Without prior IT experience, it'll take a while before you get a CyberSecurity position (unless you're really lucky) so I wouldn't stress out about it.
    Certifications: A+, N+, S+, CCNA: CyberOps, eJPT, ITIL, etc.
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Without prior IT experience, it'll take a while before you get a CyberSecurity position (unless you're really lucky) so I wouldn't stress out about it.
    Try and find groups to join in your area and meet people who are already in whatever specialty you would like to go into.  Get out there and create some of that luck!  (meetup.com)
  • a16ixa16ix Member Posts: 3 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks for the input. I do realize retaining a security position will take awhile. could i start off at a low entry level it position with only a+ and/or network+ and work my way up the corporate ladder? I know employers look for experience rather then credentials so is there any thing else i should be doing? 
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□