Pen testing and python discussion!

HirobradHirobrad Member Posts: 7 ■■□□□□□□□□
In context I am studying for an MSc in Computer Science in Cyber Security. My background is Game design to start then 12 years in education teaching GCSE and A-Level Computing.

I keep finding lots and lots of conflicting information on the internet (no really its true) and I know that asking the internet may only make the problem worst. 

What level of python do you need to become a pen tester, I have seen people say you need to be master level and others say that it is not that important and you spend majority of your time writing reports.

What would people recommend I spend my time on the most: networking (studying for CCENT) / Linux / Python. 

Or just split my time evenly over all three. My current level of Python is low intermediate I would say. OOP / Classes / Regex experience.

What would the pen testers on here say? 

Cheers guys.

Comments

• LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□
    None of those answers are patently wrong. I think many pen testers will say that the more you know about Python and become quickly functional with it, the better asset you are. But to get into pen testing, or even stay there, you don't need to be a master. It just certainly helps quite a bit.

I would honestly say "pass" on candidates that don't know programming, scripting, or are absolute beginners with Python or PowerShell to the point that they can't self-start or need heavy guidance. Someone coming in the door that is comfortable with Python/scripting is a good thing.

That said, you could work for a pentesting firm that just mainly does scans, runs some tools off Kali, and that's it. Write reports and go to bed. In that case, you don't need to know much, but it will help your career to be comfortable and workable with Python.

Security Engineer/Analyst/Geek, Red & Blue Teams
    OSCP, GCFA, GWAPT, CISSP, OSWP, AWS SA-A, AWS Security, Sec+, Linux+, CCNA Cyber Ops, CCSK