Job/intern searching ?

diablo911diablo911 Member Posts: 36 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just had a quick question, so i have looked for jobs out of curiosity for entry level computer networking positions and i mainly use indeed.com
i am currently a student in Mississippi and cant find any jobs, at least entry level and the same results show up for my hometown in Bakersfield CA which is a large city, like a small version of LA, but again all i see are the senior network admins with 5 plus years of experience with a tremendous amount of  wanted skills, skills that i have never even come across while going through my degree. In short it looks very dim finding gainful employment with just a  BS in networking and a CCNA with no experience. Any suggestions towards other site tools i should be using vs indeed or any input would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Whenever we have needed interns - I do one of 3 things.
    1. I attend tech meetups where interns and job-seekers gather - usually I can gather a dozen resumes that way.This is my preferred method.
    2. I contact one of the boot-camp schools and go to their student presentations.
    3. I use LinkedIn and reach out to my contacts.

• diablo911diablo911 Member Posts: 36 ■■■□□□□□□□
    sounds like finding one myself online is a NoGo then huh. Ya its a funny thing, man i even tried contacting my own scools network department to talk to a CCNA type of person and ask a few questions, like what do they do on a daily basis for there job and cant even get a response from them. Iv tried at least 100 times to random places throughout the country to ask someone over the phone what they do work wise in short and never get a call back, the networking world seems very closed off, i would have a better chance getting in contact with a 2 star general back on my old post vs a networker in the civilian world lol.
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■