Options

70-742 Next

chmodchmod Member Posts: 360 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited May 2019 in MCSA 2016 / MCSE 2016
I have been preparing for this exam for the past 2-3 weeks, i have 12 years of experience, i have a lot of experience with AD CS, AD DS, GPO, powershell, the only topic i have been studying and labbing up a lot is ADFS (specifically WAP, linking to azure, etc) which are things where i don't have practical experience.

IMO PKI is the hardest topic, but as i have deployed several PKI's for several apps, i have a good understanding so is just a matter of reading the theory  and get used to the confusing working/tricky MS exams  questions.

I'm using pluralsight 70.742 prep videos and MCSA Windows Server 2016 Study Guide: Exam 70-742 2nd Edition, Kindle Edition
by William Panek .

I scheduled my exam for May Friday 17th.

I'm studying 2 hours a day, 1 practical 1 theory or something along those lines, and taking a 10-15 questions exam a day, next Sunday i'm planning to take a full practice exam and use the remaining days to cover my weak areas based on the exam result and my personal feeling/confidence level on each topic .

Comments

• Options
    AvgITGeekAvgITGeek Member Posts: 342 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited May 2019
    Have the Panek study guides improved since the 2012 track? It was absolutely appalling for the last two  of the 2012 track (70-411 and 412). I used that book for my 411 but Pluralsight and TechNet were my go to. I never took the 412 to finish my MCSA as my job shifted focus.

Also, do you have experience taking MS exams or is this your first?
  • Options
    Jon_CiscoJon_Cisco Member Posts: 1,772 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I had no experience so it is hard to compare. I have been studying on and off for about 6 months. Unfortunately I never had a real solid period of commitment due to other obligations. I failed my first attempt but I came fairly close. If the topics are all familiar to you when studying then I would guess your gonna do pretty well come exam time.