Promotion to Operations and Deployments team from tech support, feeling intimidated as hell

tom_dubtom_dub Member Posts: 59 ■■■■□□□□□□
I've spent the last five years in Application Support with the company I'm currently with. Made it through all the ranks to the highest tier 3 senior position. Started getting the desire to grow and develop myself from Support to something bigger and more technical. A position opened up with the Operations and Deployment team and I was interested. This team basically deals with cloud technologies and backends of a handful of applications. I studied Linux administration heavily and interviewed well and was offered the position. Unfortunately there is virtually zero overlap between what the Support department does and what Operations does, so I am coming into this completely fresh. I've spent a couple days there so far and am feeling ridiculously intimidated and not worthy. They use Docker and GKE heavily so I've been following some videos on Linux Academy. I think I've grasped the concept of Docker and have ran a few containers, but GKE is a whole other monster. Just rage quit the last video I watched on it because nothing made sense to me. I really want to be efficient on this team but am feeling like my mind just isn't grasping this stuff. Tomorrow I'm supposed to be updating some helm charts and don't want to come off as a fool to these guys. Maybe I just strongly lack self confidence but has anyone else found themselves feeling this same way?

Comments

• NotHackingYouNotHackingYou Member Posts: 1,460 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Yes! If this is what you are feeling, you made the right move. I always look at a move this way - if it scares the hell out of you, you're doing the right thing. You've proven that you can learn and grow with your previous roles. Just keep the same tenacity and you'll do great. Promise.
    When you go the extra mile, there's no traffic.
  • paul78paul78 Member Posts: 3,016 ■■■■■■■■■■
    tom_dub said: