How well do we need to know the Rainbow Series in order to pass the CISSP exam in 2019? Do we only

isc2cisspbouncrisc2cisspbouncr Member Posts: 12 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi,

How well do we need to know the Rainbow Series in order to pass the CISSP exam in 2019?  Do we only need to know the Orange Book?

Thanks!
ITIL | PMP | Security+ | CISM | CISSP (Endorsing)

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□
    You have to know at least the Rainbow Siege series. Know all the operators like Tachanka, Smoke etc. Wait, this is not a video game Question? 

I would say just know what Orange Book is and a brief description of what it does. You don't need to know it in detail. Same for rainbow.
    Certs: CISSP, CySA+, Security+, Network+ and others | 2019 Goals: Cloud Sec/Scripting/Linux

• cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    edited May 2019
    LORD Tachanka that is. 

On a serious note, agree with mikey88. I wouldn't worry too much about it. When I studied for this test a had a few things that I filed under "not worth my time memorizing". This was one. The other one was details on different encryption algorithms. Block size, key length. etc? Hell no! Symmetric vs. asymmetric, stream vs block and that was it. 
  • isc2cisspbouncrisc2cisspbouncr Member Posts: 12 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks folks!  I'm freaking out because the CISSP syllabus is much broader than ISACA's CISM (which I had passed).  I've also passed my Comptia Security+.  CISSP syllabus is all over the shop! 
  • StrikingInfluencerStrikingInfluencer Member Posts: 38 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Took the CISSP and passed in March.  I can say I personally didn't almost any questions about the rainbow series and the two I can recall were very basic.  Just knowing the main book colors and what they pertain to was what I studied.  
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I didnt care about the Rainbow Series. 
  • CyberJosh95CyberJosh95 Member Posts: 53 ■■■□□□□□□□