Western Governors University (WGU) has one critical flaw: The mentors.

revelatedrevelated Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
Context:
I was a student of WGU back in 2013.  I withdrew because of issues with many of the courses as well as the mentor at the time.  Went back to work, was successful and decided to give it another go around in 2019.

6 classes later, I'm told that mentors can block you from taking classes in the order you choose, even though there's not a hard policy allowing them to do so or restricting you as a student; they can individually, on their own discretion, opt to block you as part of their attempt to help new students.  It's fine to help new students; I'm not a new student. I don't need a babysitter.  

The course mentors/instructors are nice to deal with but largely, they refer you back to the online materials.  SO they don't add value if that's all they're there for.

At the end of the day, students are paying for this.  The student should thus have control over the end result.

I'm not suggesting they get rid of mentors.  But mentors need to lose some of the power they hold.  A student should be able to select whatever courses they want to take, when they want to take them, if they're mature enough to own the risk of losing money.  That includes accelerating courses.  

Comments

• MrsWilliamsMrsWilliams Member Posts: 192 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited June 2019
    revelated said:
    Context:
    I was a student of WGU back in 2013.  I withdrew because of issues with many of the courses as well as the mentor at the time.  Went back to work, was successful and decided to give it another go around in 2019.