Options

Passed ICND1/CCENT! (and the resources that I used)

ps.89ps.89 Member Posts: 47 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited May 2019 in CCNA & CCENT
I passed the ICND1 exam today with a score of 913! It's been long overdue. I went through Cisco's Network Academy several years ago when working on my bachelor's degree, but then I stopped pursuing the certification after I graduated in 2017. I finally decided to buckle down these last four months.

Resources I used:
  • CCENT/CCNA ICND1 100-105 Official Cert Guide by Wendell Odom: Dry and mostly boring, but a required reading. I read this book once in its entirety and plan on reading the 200-105 book for the CCNA.
  • CCNA 2018 200-125 Video Boot Camp With Chris Bryant: This was probably the single best resource that I had. I didn't want to dish out hundreds of dollars for CBTNuggets. I found Chris Bryant's training videos on Udemy for $10. I only watched the ICND1 portion of the videos and they were an integral part of my success.
  • Packet Tracer labs for the CCNA exam: Practical CCNA tests by David Bombal: This video course was my main labbing resource. David Bombal provides Packet Tracer labs for you to download and follow along with in his videos. This is a free Udemy course.
  • 31 Days Before Your CCNA Routing & Switching Exam by Allan Johnson: After going through the first three resources listed above, I was still unsure of how prepared I was. I decided to give this book a go. You're meant to read one chapter per day for 31 days, but I only read the ICND1 portion of the book. This was free for me through my company paid O'Reilly/Safari Online account.