Federal Job w/ Multiple Offers! Which one to take?!?

Icecube0045Icecube0045 Member Posts: 15 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello Guys, I need some advice. I have two federal job offers.

The first is for a Term GS-11 2210 position in InfoSec and in the compliance division. The term is for 13 months but can be extended for up to 4 years. Although it is a term position, I am considering it because it would be a perfect opportunity for me to start getting some experience in security. Which from my understanding could be a lot more lucrative than staying in systems administration. However, because its a GS-11 position in the DMV area, my budget will be tighter than id like.

The 2nd position is a permanent GS-12 2210 Systems Administrator position in Texas. I am currently a systems administrator so I would be basically doing the same things I do at my current job.

Do you think it would be worth it to take the GS-11 with the opportunity to have a cyber security role on my resume and then find a job in the private sector? Or should I take the GS-12 as a systems administrator, stay with the government and look for GS-13 and 14 roles?

Also, are GS-12 position's normally a role where I would be managing contractors or actually doing the work? 

Comments

• MrsWilliamsMrsWilliams Member Posts: 192 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited June 2019

Also, are GS-12 position's normally a role where I would be managing contractors or actually doing the work? 
    The listing on usajobs is going to have something like this--->

Supervisory status
    Yes.

Just because you are in a 12 position doesn't mean you are going to be in charge of anyone. I highly highly suggest reading over the job announcement AGAIN :) 

I also highly suggest looking at other forums outside of this one for government job related questions. I think other governmental focused forums/sites would have answered your questions. 

You think you can take a 12, then jump to a 13/14