Passed CySA+ (barely)

walterbyrdwalterbyrd Member Posts: 40 ■■■□□□□□□□
I barely passed. I got 774 with minimum passing grade of 750. There were only about 75 questions, so the questions must have counted about 10 points each. I may have passed by as little as one question.

I have five other CompTIA certs (a+, net+, sec+, project+, linux+) I passed all the exams on the first try, I used self study for all. I studied far more for this exam than any other CompTIA exam.

I started with the Sybex book, but I prefered the writing style in the All-In-One book.

I studied hard, for months, I read the entire CySA+ All-in-One book. And I refereed back to it many times. I had all the book's practice questions down cold.

I also used the web, especially wikipedia, and CompTIA's outline to study in more depth than either book offered.

As I took the exam, I felt certain that I would fail. Not much looked familiar. I felt like I was totally guessing on about half of the questions. I was surprised to find I passed.

The All-in-One book did not help that much. Most of the questions were outside the scope of what was discussed in the book. The All-in-One book followed CompTIA's outline, but the exam went into more depth.

It is not an especially valuable cert. A long way to go for almost nothing.

You must be able to read and interoperate logs and output from vulnerability scanners, and utilities like tcpdump, and nmap.

You must be able to read the log, or output, and then identify the exploits or vulnerabilities. Then you need to know how to prioritize the exploits or vulnerabilities, and know how to mitigate or contain.

I consider many of the questions to be ambiguous and/or subjective.

Comments

• neonmanneonman Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Congrats on the pass. It doesn't matter if you pass by one question or get 100% as a pass is a pass. So well done.