SQL Server 2016 Administration MCSA Underway

AvgITGeekAvgITGeek Member Posts: 342 ■■■■□□□□□□
edited June 2019 in SQL Server exams
About 3 months ago I took a position as a DBA after a couple of years away. I've always loved working with SQL Server and querying the data so I've been studying off and on for the SQL 2012 MCSA for a bit. Yeah, I passed the Administering SQL Server 7.0 exam way back in the day. Anyhow, I decided to bin my attempts for 2012 and go for 2016 as we will be moving away from 2012 in the next couple of years so I might as well get clued up. I have PluralSight, Udemy, the MS Press 70-764 and 70-765 books and plan to augment that with a bunch of research/technet as well as my home lab. I'm planning on taking a week per chapter to get things down, some chapters may be quicker as I'm already familiar with a lot of admin tasks but I've never used Encryption for example.

This is my own place to keep accountable but if you'd like to chime in, please do, I'd welcome it!

Comments

• ZorodzaiZorodzai Member Posts: 357 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Best of luck, you got this !
  • AvgITGeekAvgITGeek Member Posts: 342 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited June 2019
    Thanks @Zorodzai !

Today so far, I've got about 2 hours in the Exam Reference and some Microsoft Docs: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/sql/relational-databases/security/encryption/sql-server-and-database-encryption-keys-database-engine?view=sql-server-2016 Now planning on hitting up the Udemy video course for about an hour or so. May get some sample commands in. Not sure. Exhausting day at work, very busy and TIL that Database Mail stores every message sent in MSDB and if you use Database Mail a lot, your MSDB can get fairly large over time. Apparently the guy I replaced didn't know that either. Time for some cleanup!

For all of you DBAs out there that don't know: