Will SANS GPEN Training helps for OSCP Prep

MSK26MSK26 Registered Users Posts: 6 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi, 

I want to pursue OSCP however not able to allocate time due to work and life. That said, my org may sponsor SANS training so I'm wondering taking GPEN will be good course as pre-cursor to OSCP as I'm totally new to offensive security. At this point, I'm planning to focus on GPEN, Python before jumping full time on OSCP. 

Can anyone please share if my approach is in right direction. 

Thanks, MSK26
Tagged:

Comments

• iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The best prep for the OSCP is the OSCP material.  Jump in and do it.

FYI, then GPEN is now partially practical too so all that time spent studying for it could be used on the OSCP if that is your end goal.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • xXxKrisxXxxXxKrisxXx Member Posts: 80 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'll second what iBrokeIT said. Additionally, I'll add that once upon a time l passed the OSCP and sat and tried to challenge the GPEN exam and failed. l do know someone who took Cracking the Perimeter, obtained their OSCE, challenged the GPEN exam and passed. You already know this but it comes down to the knowledge of the individual going in.

Looking back, l was pretty foolish prepping for the GPEN after getting my OSCP. PWK is hardcore Lab and Hands-On focused. While SEC560 has that in the accompanying lab guide and day 6 (CTF), you're going to get the most preparation for the OSCP by pwning the machines in the lab environment.

l can personally vouch that now having obtained both the GPEN, OSCP, as well as eCPPT Gold & Silver, the certification l feel most proud of and got the most out of was Pentesting with Kali.