Options

Which cert should I go for CEH vs Security+/Pentest+

Anshuman_42Anshuman_42 Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
edited May 2019 in CEH
So I'm a third-year college student going into my final year, pursuing my B-Tech in India. I've been interested in security for the past couple of years and have done a few courses on edX and Udemy related cybersecurity and ethical hacking in general. 
I was planning on doing my CEH, by this year end but then noticed that a lot of people said it wasn't worth it. I'm getting the official training + test fees for ~$450 after a discount. 
Do you think it is still not worth it and what alternative do you suggest. (I know OSCP is really good, but I plan on giving that after I get a job.
Also, is going a CCNA still worth it?

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    That depends on how desirable each cert is in the region you hope to work. Different parts of the world value different certs.
  • Options
    LonerVampLonerVamp Member Posts: 518 ■■■■■■■■□□
    The CEH may be worth it, or not. It all depends on if jobs you want to get require it or will give you preference for having it. It's expensive for what it is, and the quality of the material is highly criticized...but, things still recognize it as a leader.

Me personally, I think Security+ should be everyone's entry level baseline to learn the jargon, the topics, and use it to show interest in security. The only exception would be starting in on something higher up like a 4-year security-specialized degree, perhaps. Courses and interests are one thing, but a Security+ cert tells me you're serious about some level of commitment.

And then move upwards from there. I would expect something like the Pentest+ to be harder than the CEH, but far easier than something truly hands on like PWK/OSCP. I may or may not pursue that one myself someday, but today is not that day. :)