Active Top Secret/SCI desiring to go OCONUS (Middle East)

Arizona321Arizona321 Member Posts: 2 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey everyone, newbie here!  Been reading a lot on here the past few weeks, so thank you to everyone that contributes on this site.

Here's my current situation.  
Clearance:  TS/SCI

Current Employer:  Army, 4 years, leaving in October.  Combat Arms job, so no IT work there.

Experience:  I have little professional IT experience, worked at an online hosting company doing tech support (but mainly sales) for about a year prior to joining the Army.

Certifications:  Studying for Security plus, plan to test mid September.

Desired Job Location:  Middle East, just started reading on here about Africa (intrigued, but not too sure)

So here are my questions:

With having little experience will it be hard for me to get picked up for a job? 

What jobs should I apply to?  Help Desk, or something a little higher because of my clearance? 

Who should I start with ?  I see a lot of people go with Vectrus on here, but since I already have a clearance should I look elsewhere ? 

Is there a pay difference between Secret vs TS/SCI clearance?

What's a realistic salary expectation?  

How long does the process usually take from application turn in until you're on country ?  I would like to leave begining of the new year.

Does OCONUS contracting look good to CONUS employers ?  I plan on doing 1-2 years then coming back to the US and working for Boeing, General Dynamics, Northrop Grumman or other Defense Contracting companies in the Phoenix area.

I'm married with a newborn.  The primary reason for me wanting to go OCONUS is for the money and experience.  With the already saved money and contracting money I'd like to have a nice down payment on a house.   The wife is ok (but not excited) for me to go back overseas if the money is right.

Comments

• mikey88mikey88 Member Posts: 495 ■■■■■■□□□□

With having little experience will it be hard for me to get picked up for a job?