Learning Python

diablo911diablo911 Member Posts: 36 ■■■□□□□□□□
Just a quick question, im running through the basics concepts of Python through w3schools, but aside from that, does anyone have any good ideas on what types of programs i should know how to write in regards to networking. When i went through C++, aside from learning the concepts i stopped at shallow copy which is the second class in it and is all that was required of me, my instructor seemed to throw brutal ideas on what types of programs we should write, all of them i know increases my knowledge but non related specifically to networking. So any ideas would be greatly appreciated. Nothing crazy, im still a newb. 

Comments

• SpiegelSpiegel Member Posts: 322 ■■■■■□□□□□
    You should check out David Bombal. He has courses on Udemy regarding Net DevOps for Cisco on Python for network automation and programming. 
    Degree: WGU B.S. Network Operations and Security [COMPLETE]
    Current Certs: A+ | N+ | S+ | Cloud Essentials+ | Project+ | MTA: OSF | CIW: SDA | ITIL: F | CCENT | CCNA R&S | CCNA | LPI Linux Essentials
    Currently Working On: JNCIA-MistAI

2022 Goals: JNCIA-MistAI [ ]
    Future Certs: CCNP Enterprise
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Sec+ Posts: 0 Mod
    edited August 2019
    There is no "Type" that you should write. If you are learning python just pick something that will be fun or useful to you. I wouldn't even worry about it being network related (Unless you want). It will be much easier to learn the concepts of python and programming doing something fun. The skill you learn will be transferable to any networking project you take on later. 

This book may spark some ideas https://www.amazon.com/Violent-Python-Cookbook-Penetration-Engineers/dp/1597499579

I really enjoyed the courses I took through Corsera as well. They have multi-course specializations that are similar to what you might learn in Undergrad. 
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited August 2019