CCSP gear

opers13opers13 Member Posts: 100
guys,

I'm trying to put together a CCSP lab. I currently have:

3640 12.4 IOS firewall
PIX515 v. 7.1
Cat 2950
3x 2612

what should I get next...IDS or concentrator appliance?

tx

opers13

Comments

• AhriakinAhriakin Member Posts: 1,799 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I'd say IDS. You'll cover a lot of the VPN course basics in the PIX exam, and the GUI is relatively simple. The IPS (I'm studying it at the moment) is a whole different kettle of fish and pretty much nothing from the other devices will prepare you for it (The PIX/ASA exam only really covers the intrusion protection areas from a VERY basic setup standpoint).
    I don't have access to a Cisco IDS/IPS device at all so I'm trying to wing it, though I have done a lot of work in the last week or 2 on setting up an efficient Windows Snort box so I'm hoping that will help a little (at least with the mindsets of tuning/working signatures etc.)
    We responded to the Year 2000 issue with "Y2K" solutions...isn't this the kind of thinking that got us into trouble in the first place?
  • mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    opers13 wrote:
    what should I get next...IDS or concentrator appliance?
    Whichever one you can get the best deal on -- if you're shopping on eBay.

I initially got a VPN3002 Hardware Client for $100, and used that until I scored a $700 VPN3005 in mint condition.

I failed the IDS exam by 5 points..... and then hunted down a bargin (missing faceplate) 4210 IDS. The funny thing -- I had no problem with the SIMs or the software interface questions. A month later I stomped the IPS exam.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • sexion8sexion8 Member Posts: 242