Which SANS Course?

jfred1jfred1 Member Posts: 2 ■■■□□□□□□□
I hate to ask this question because it's so tough to answer, but I need some opinions.

I'm an experienced IT systems admin/engineer with over 17 years years experience.  Certified with lots of hands on with Microsoft-based networks, VMware vSphere, and Citrix XenApp/XenDesktop/NetScaler (and more).  Went back to school (WGU) for a degree in cybersecurity just for fun and am almost finished.

I'm going to take the SANS Undergrad Certificate next.  It includes SEC401/GSEC. SEC504/GCIH, and then an elective.  And that's where I'm stuck.  Any thoughts on which course to take for an elective?

I'm not necessarily looking to move jobs when complete but I am trying to consider which elective course/cert might provide the most benefit in transitioning into a dedicated infosec role should I choose to.

Options are: SEC501/GCED, SEC503/GCIA, SEC542/GWAPT, SEC560/GPEN, FOR508/GCFA, and ICS410/GICSP.

My initial thought was GPEN since I have an interest (and I've also started to play with CTF's on the side), but also considering GCED.  Maybe I should be considering others as well?

These are probably the only SANS courses I'll ever get to take so I'm trying to make the right choice.
Systems Engineer
BS-CSIA (WGU), SANS/GIAC GSEC + GCIH, eLS eJPT + eCXD, SSCP, VCP-DCV, MCSA and more
Upcoming Goals: GCIA, CISSP, OSCP

Comments

• johndoeejohndoee Member Posts: 152 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Question:

Have you applied and been accepted?

From the looks of your signature, you haven't taken any GIAC exams in the past. 

It's been people in recent history that have failed GIAC exams. I am not saying that you will. What I am saying is that you have to weigh difficulty vs interests. I probably wouldn't suggest GPEN being your first GIAC experience.