Pursue CISSP or go for Azure/GCP certs?

rs23rs23 Member Posts: 27 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone. Over the past 6 months i have been able to get Security+, AWS Solution Architect and AWS Security specialty certification. I am 10 years in to federal consulting and kinda pivoting into the Cloud Security space. I have a masters in Cyber security too from 2008. My every day tasks revolves around IAM, Content management, Federal cloud space, Sales IT and solution architecture using Microsoft tools like Office 365.I have a year's experience in NOC/SOC environment too.  My question is this : Option 1 or Option 2 . Which will make me more marketable with 10 years Federal consulting experience with my current certs. 

Option 1 : Go for CISSP 
Option 2 : Go for Azure and GCP Certifications (Security) so i can demonstrate i have multiple cloud vendor knowledge. 

Thanks for taking the time out to respond! 
Tagged:

Comments

• DZA_DZA_ Member Posts: 467 ■■■■■■■□□□
    Hi OP, 

What I would recommend is to go study for the CISSP first and then start to look at the CCSP or CCSK as an extension to your security certifications. The CCSP is a high overview of cloud security which tends to fall towards managerial thinking vs the CCSK is more hands-on and technical in nature. I wouldn't necessary would certify for Azure or GCP certifications (as they're vendor specific) unless you work with that technology immensely and you want to demonstrate that you have the working knowledge baseline based on the vendor's criteria. Leveraging the CISSP tends to get you through the resume review easier since everyone posts job descriptions require CISSP; it gets you far enough to have the first interview. 
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Both, but CISSP now since you can draw on your extensive experience to assist in passing. Then you're clean slate to begin AWS.
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP