CCENT - Hard Copy Reading Preferred - Newbie

wifipineapplewifipineapple Member Posts: 20 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I got a Bachelor's majoring in Management Information Systems in 12/2018 and want to complete at least the CCENT before time runs out and things change in 2020. I was considering doing both the CCENT/CCNA in one shot but I'm not sure I'll have time for all of it. I don't even know the average prep time for the CCENT but I would like to buy a hard copy book and look for a place to do structured simulations and labs online; either good free ones or better paid ones.

I will take all the advice and recommendations anyone can give me and I apologize if I've posted this in the wrong subforum.

Is everything standardized as of now for the exams? The Cisco site talks about training changes over the next few months but I didn't know if that would include new material for the exam.  I think I just want to take a shot at the CCENT as I am comfortable with what I believe it to cover.  Will my CCENT still be good should I pass it before the changes in 2/2020 even if I don't also get the CCNA? 

I'm willing to pay for resources, but I like to read and study mostly hard copy text and of course I would love some recommendations on where to do good simulations and labs and that type of thing. Cisco offers some e-learning course for $600, I don't want to have to do that.  

I see copies of books on Amazon to prepare for the CCENT test, I just fear buying anything outdated.

I know I've asked a lot of questions in a fairly random fashion but I'm glad to have discovered this resource and any help would be appreciated.

Thank you all in advance!

Comments

• thomas_thomas_ Member Posts: 1,012 ■■■■■■■■□□
    After 2/24/20 there will be no more CCENT exam.  If you haven't passed CCENT + CCNA or the combined CCNA exam by that date, then you will have to study, take, and pass the new CCNA exam.

To get the right study materials you'll want to do the following: