Options

IT Management Interview Questions - For a Net Admin

astrogeekastrogeek Member Posts: 251 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi all..... it's been a long time since I've been on this forum and so much has changed.  I've been working as a Network Administrator for the last 5 1/2 years at the same organization, (which I love).  We have a super small IT department of a whopping 3 staff members, which has been a huge benefit for my career progression because I literally wear just about every hat you can think of and have essentially become the go to person for tech requests or opinions, (which I guess isn't hard when there's only 3 people lol).

Anyway, my manager left for another organization and I've applied for his spot.  I've never held any type of management position and have no idea what questions I might be hit with during the interview. 

Can any of you offer some advice on how I can best prepare for this opportunity?  I really want to get the position because I feel like I already know what needs done and believe I would be good at it, but currently my entire tech career is mostly technical... except I do manage a lot of projects with contractors.

I already know the interview panel will include at least one experienced IT manager from another organization and I have no idea what questions he'll be asking. A tips or advice would be greatly welcomed and appreciated!!

Comments

• Options
    EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    edited October 2019
    Ultimately, management is about effective use of resources (human, financial) and reducing risk in an effort to deliver value to the owners / shareholders. As a manager of managers, the questions I would ask someone looking to make that first step into management include:

How do you see your section's role within the larger organization?