Any opinions on SEC530?

MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
It's been some time since it's been out.  I was wondering if anyone has attended the course?

Comments

• catscapscatscaps Member Posts: 24 ■■■□□□□□□□
    I attended, what do you want to know. I thought it was valuable, but of course the value of the course depends on your current knowledge set and job function. There is zero trust stuff, hardening network and system defenses, etc.
  • jchamiltonjchamilton Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I would also like some feedback on this course. I am a firewall administrator with GCIA and my company is giving me a choice between SEC530 GDSA or FOR572 GNFA next.

I was originally planning on the 530 because of the course objectives, but I recently read elsewhere that the SEC530 was disappointing and still needs to mature some. I am also not sure if the GNFA will overlap too much with GCIA.
  • MitMMitM Member Posts: 622 ■■■■□□□□□□
    catscaps thanks for the reply.  Most of my focus is network security.  I was really looking for opinions of the course....the content, value? etc.   

@jchamilton why so many replies with the same stuff? lol
  • iBrokeITiBrokeIT Member Posts: 1,318 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Your best bet in situations like this would be to check out the SANS webcast archive.  There are two webcasts about SEC530 that should give you a feel for the class: The Perimeter is Dead: Introducing SEC530: Defensible Security Architecture by Justin Henderson, Eric Conrad and Trust No One: Introducing SEC530: Defensible Security Architecture by Eric Conrad.
    2019: GPEN | GCFE | GXPN | GICSP | CySA+ 
    2020: GCIP | GCIA 
    2021: GRID | GDSA | Pentest+ 
    2022: GMON | GDAT
    2023: GREM  | GSE | GCFA

WGU BS IT-NA | SANS Grad Cert: PT&EH | SANS Grad Cert: ICS Security | SANS Grad Cert: Cyber Defense Ops SANS Grad Cert: Incident Response
  • catscapscatscaps Member Posts: 24 ■■■□□□□□□□