What are the best certifications for a retired Army Signal Officer?

odomscdodomscd Member Posts: 19 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am a retired Army Signal Officer with a Bachelors of Science in Management Information Systems. During that time, I was not required to have Certifications in the Army.  What Certifications would you recommend for a retired Signal Officer who would like to transition to the Civilian job market?

Comments

• EANxEANx Member Posts: 1,077 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Different work will benefit from different certs. Do you have a preference in the type of work you'd like to do? Do you want to do IT or manage people who do IT?
  • thaiguy314thaiguy314 Member Posts: 59 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Currently a Signal officer. Not sure what you're doing now for employment but if you still have an active clearance and would consider defense contract work, I'd look at 8570 requirements. As a starter, I'd pursue Security+. It's a good, all-around, entry-level certification that's generally respected. 

https://public.cyber.mil/cwmp/dod-approved-8570-baseline-certifications/
    Certs: CISSP, CEH, CCNA Cyber Ops, Security+
  • yoba222yoba222 Member Posts: 1,237 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Signal officer that didn't have to have certs . . .  hmm I usually associate the title signal officer with top secret clearance,  and then I usually associate top secret clearance with at least CompTIA Security+ certification at a minimum for DoD 8570. Sounds like you have a different story though?

As far as cert recommendations, going down the technical path and emphasizing the signal side of things will depend on what you want to specialize in. And then going down the management path and emphasizing the officer side of things are different certs as well. What are you into?
    A+, Network+, CCNA, LFCS,
    Security+, eJPT, CySA+, PenTest+,
    Cisco CyberOps, GCIH, VHL,
    In progress: OSCP
  • advanex1advanex1 Member Posts: 365 ■■■■□□□□□□
    edited October 2019