Was offered $92K and negotiating $102K

egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
Dang! I'm hyper excited as I was made an offer of $92K by a small cybersecurity MSSP (about 100 employees) but countered by asking for $102K.  I did that specifically as an article I read had specified to negotiate with a 10 - 20% of the original offer.  However am I over stretching it?  My background is 20+ years of general IT with 3 years of specific cybersecurity experience in SOC environment.
B.Sc (Info. Systems), CISSP, CCNA, CCNP, Security+

Comments

• lucky0977lucky0977 Member Posts: 218 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Well....Doesn't hurt to try.
    Bachelor of Science: Computer Science | Hawaii Pacific University
    CISSP | CISM | CISA | CASP | SSCP | Sec+ | Net+ | A+
  • egrizzlyegrizzly Member Posts: 533 ■■■■■□□□□□
    edited November 2019
    lucky0977 said:
    Well....Doesn't hurt to try.

My goal isn't really $102K. I'm highly elated for $92K, but they say never accept the first offer, so I didn't.  Plus it would suck worse if I started there and found out everybody was making $100K, lol.  So yeah, I'm hoping they inch it up a notch or two
  • NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    edited November 2019
    Good luck!  Interested to hear how their response is!  Definitely doesn't hurt to try imo

Congrats on the new position too!
    edited November 2019
    Good luck!  Interested to hear how their response is!  Definitely doesn't hurt to try imo

Congrats on the new position too!

Thanks.  Me too. Regardless of how much they increase it'll be my highest salary ever!
  • cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    Win no matter what, love it.
  • deep_logicdeep_logic Member Posts: 25 ■■■□□□□□□□
  • chrisonechrisone Member Posts: 2,278 ■■■■■■■■■□
    hmmm 10k difference doesn't seem bizzare. Its not like you are negotiating from 92k to 140k