What cert should I take next?

NetworkSpoonNetworkSpoon Member Posts: 11 ■■■□□□□□□□
edited November 2019 in General Certification
So I wanted to get some perspective, Im a Network Engineer and I have worked in IT for 8 years. Im now looking to move into the Cyber Security realm. I have several vendor-specific Security Appliance certs as well as Microsoft cert. I went and got my Security + at the beginning of the year and I have been pondering on what cert I want to do next. I've looked at the ISC SSCP cert as I have heard they are similar and there is even some crossover. I've also thought about CEH and continuing with Comptia on its path. I just want to get your opinion on what logically makes the most sense to do next. As of right now the company Im with will pay for certs if they make sense to them. However Im looking for a new job and fully expect to have to pay for the cert at least.

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• NetworkNewbNetworkNewb Member Posts: 3,298 ■■■■■■■■■□
    CISSP   /endthread
  • Infosec_SamInfosec_Sam Admin Posts: 527 Admin
    I've thought about this for a while as well, and I ultimately narrowed it down to two certifications: the CySA+ and the SSCP. What I'm ultimately aiming for is either the CASP+ and/or the CISSP, depending on how technical I'd like to get. The CySA+ would essentially pick up where the Security+ left off, and would be a great gateway into a mid-level security analyst/engineer role. After that, I could pick up the Pentest+ for some OffSec training on my way to the CASP+. On the other hand, the SSCP would essentially be a fast track to the CISSP, but the CISSP has a 5-year cybersecurity experience requirement to get certified, which I don't have at this time. That being said, the CISSP does pull much more weight on a resume than the CASP+, so once I finally check that box, I'd be at a significant advantage.