CISSP or SSCP?

appleman01appleman01 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have 6 years of experience in IT (with a 4 years Bachelor's degree as well) with main focus on Identity & Access Management. I have been planning to prepare and take the CISSP certification, but I am not entirely sure if i should go for it as my first Security certification. Would taking the SSCP first be a good idea? 

Comments

• internutzzinternutzz Member Posts: 15 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Do you do any security administration in your role where the SSCP might help? You seemingly have the experience to qualify as a CISSP rather than as an Associate so if the SSCP won't help with your current role (or any future roles you're interested in) then go straight for the CISSP.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,023 Admin
    Get the CISSP on your resume as soon as you are fully qualified for it. You must have professional work experience in at least two of the eight CISSP domains. If you are not confident about earning the CISSP material, getting the SSCP cert first is a good study prep for the CISSP.
  • SteveLavoieSteveLavoie Member Posts: 1,133 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Your experience seem right, just make sur you have enough enough in 2 domain. Also getting your SSCP reduce by 1 year the number of experience required. Finally, SSCP is a nice certification it can be compared to Sec+, but at least if you do both (CISSP and SSCP) it will be easier to track your CPE.  
  • lucky0977lucky0977 Member Posts: 218 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You appear to have the requisite experience and the degree (If IT related) would knock off a year so you would only need to document 4 yrs or experience. The SCCP is closely related to the SEC+ and provides you with foundational knowledge in the InfoSec field. It's totally up to you if you feel confident enough to take the CISSP but I always preach "baby steps" and gaining knowledge slowly rather than being fed through a fire hose with water going "full blast".